Building Authority


The Building Authority is a three-member board that is appointed by the Mayor and subject to the confirmation of City Council. Members are appointed to six-year terms. Members must reside, work or have ownership property within the City of Westland. No member of the legislative body is eligible for appointment to the Authority. The Building Authority deliberates the issuance of financial bonds enabling payment for construction of municipal buildings.


  • Robert Fritz
    Term expires: March 5, 2025
  • Roger Shifflett
    Term expires: March 4, 2025
  • Steve Smith
    Term expires: March 5, 2025

Desired Skills

  • Banking / Finance Background
  • Property Appraisal / Assessment Background
  • Real Estate Law Background

Diversity Breakdown

The information provided in the charts below and under each individual Board or Commission was self reported and the City does not warrant the accuracy of the information.

Age Breakdown
Ethnicity Breakdown
Building Authority Age BreakdownBuilding Authority Ethnicity Breakdown
Gender Breakdown
Geography Breakdown
Building Authority Gender BreakdownBuilding Authority Geography Breakdown


The Building Authority meets as needed.
View the Boards and Commission Calendar for meeting information.