Historical Commission


The Historical Commission is governed by a nine-member board appointed by the Mayor. Members serve a five year term. Members must reside in the City of Westland. The Commission collects, maintains, and preserves any materials and documents relating the history of Westland and Nankin Township. Visit the Commission's website or visit us on Facebook for more information.

The Commission also operates the Helen C. Brown Historical Museum (see map). Members must be able to work at least one Saturday per month to provide bus tours, help with research, and other necessary work at the museum, including but not limited to:

  • Cleaning
  • Data entry
  • Light maintenance
  • Organizing and digitizing archives
  • Shoveling snow


  • Ryan Eberhart
    Term expires: December 20, 2027
  • Vacant
    Term expires: March 7, 2027
  • Jonathan Hays
    Term expires: October 11, 2027
  • Brenda Ozog
    Term expires: July 28, 2025
  • Vacant
    Term expires: 
  • Sharon Sullivan
    Term expires: April 25, 2027
  • Brett Mahaffey, Chair
    Term expires: November 15, 2028
  • Vacant
    Term expires:
  • Kimberly Carrick
    Term expires: June 6, 2024

Desired Skills

  • Facility Maintenance / Handy Man Background
  • Archiving / Library Background
  • Organizational Skills

Diversity Breakdown

The information provided in the charts below and under each individual Board or Commission was self reported and the City does not warrant the accuracy of the information.

Age Breakdown
Ethnicity Breakdown
Historical Age BreakdownHistorical Ethnicity Breakdown
Gender Breakdown
Geography Breakdown
Historical Gender BreakdownHistorical Geography Breakdown


The commission meets the last Tuesday of each month.
View the Boards and Commission Calendar for meeting information.