Library Board


The Library Board is governed by a five-member board that is appointed by the Mayor and subject to confirmation of the City Council. Members are appointed to five year terms. Board members must reside in the City of Westland. The Board oversees the Library Director and the operations of the William P. Faust Public Library


  • James Higgins, Chair
    Term expires: June 20, 2024
  • Patricia Doline
    Term expires: June 19, 2028
  • Jen Koralewski
    Term expires: August 7, 2027
  • Gayle Nicholson
    Term expires: February 6, 2026
  • Kathryn Sample
    Term expires: August 15, 2026

Desired Skills

  • Financing / Budgeting Background
  • Fundraising / Marketing Background
  • Library Operations Background
  • Policymaking / Strategic Planning Background

Diversity Breakdown

The information provided in the charts below and under each individual Board or Commission was self reported and the City does not warrant the accuracy of the information.

Age Breakdown
Ethnicity Breakdown
Library Age BreakdownLibrary Ethnicity Breakdown
Gender Breakdown
Geography Breakdown
Library Gender BreakdownLibrary Geography Breakdown


The board meets the second Wednesday of each month.
View the Boards and Commission Calendar for meeting information.